Official light rail stop names unveiled

21 May 2018

In another exciting light rail milestone, the Geographical Names Board has officially approved the final 17 stop names.

The stops are named after key or major landmarks to make it easier for customers to orient themselves geographically and better understand their journey.

The NSW Government last year submitted proposed names for all light rail stops, including “Royal Randwick” for the stop on Alison Road.

The Geographical Names Board undertook community consultation on the Government’s proposed names and received extensive feedback.

Since first planning the CBD and South East Light Rail, the intention was to ensure major destinations including Moore Park, the university, hospitals and the racecourse were recognised.

The official light rail stop names are:

  • Circular Quay
  • Bridge Street
  • Wynyard
  • QVB
  • Town Hall
  • Chinatown
  • Haymarket
  • Central Chalmers Street
  • Surry Hills
  • Moore Park
  • Royal Randwick
  • Wansey Road
  • UNSW High Street
  • Randwick
  • ES Marks
  • Kensington
  • UNSW Anzac Parade
  • Kingsford
  • Juniors Kingsford